Featured Artist – Deby Romaniw of Deby’s Designs

25 Jun

28 Romaniw, Deby1

28 Romaniw, Deby2

28 Romaniw, Deby3

28 Romaniw, Deby4

SONY DSCDeby Romaniw – As a jewelry and glass artist from Northeast Ohio, I have been creating jewelry designs for over 30 years and am constantly evolving and learning new processes for my work. My interest in art and jewelry began in the late 70’s in my small home town of Saline, Michigan. My early artwork started with macramé wall hangings, plant hangers, and simple beaded jewelry for friends and family. As my inventory grew, I began participating in local art shows and found people were willing pay for what I loved to create.

My mom has always been my biggest supporter and has become my business manager and web designer. In 2004 she sparked my creative juices and I started making gifts for my friends and family. Before long they wanted to buy pieces to give as gifts, so in the summer of 2006 I acquired my vendor’s license and applied for my first show in the Cleveland across the street from the West Side Market. I was thrilled when I was accepted and even more thrilled when I made my first sale.

In an effort to experiment with new techniques, I enrolled in glass classes taught by an internationally renowned glass artist in Florida. These new techniques have given me the creative spark and have caused me to create pieces with the “wow” factor for which all artists strive.

Leave a Reply

