Featured Artist – Jeneen Hobby

12 Aug

Jeneen Hobby – I first began to study photography seriously in 2003, after having experimented with a Pentax K-1000 and darkroom experience in college. In 2003 I traveled to Yellowstone National Park to study with Sandra Nykerk. Since then I have studied with Sam Abell, Tim Cooper, Doug Johnson, Jim Roetzel, Eddie Soloway, Brenda Tharp, and Larry Ulrich, in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, and in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

          My interest in photography began with the study of nature. The beauty, grandeur, and complexity of life on this planet are my subjects. From the grand vistas of the Rocky Mountains to the rocky coastline of Maine, I have been enthralled by the majesty of nature. But I am as captivated by a small detail as I am by a sweeping landscape. Indeed, you may see in some of my images an interest in exploring the patterns nature makes in an abstract way, from a close-up of the bark of a Rainbow Eucalyptus tree in south Florida, to a reflection of the Everett Covered Bridge and autumn leaves in Cuyahoga Valley National Park. 

          But my love for photography extends also to humanity and what it has created. In addition to traveling the United States, I have spent time in Asia and the Middle East—from China, India, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, and Laos, to Yemen and Dubai. On these journeys I aim to capture the essence of a place, which can occur in the smile of a novice monk on the Tibetan Plateau; or in the art and architecture of an ancient civilization, such as when the Cambodian jungle overtakes the Angkor complex, or when the sun warms the top of a 400-year old “skyscraper” in Sana’a, Yemen.

          My most recent body of work comes from Ohio, where I live and work. In revisiting familiar places to photograph them, I always discover something new. I have been exploring close-ups and abstractions lately, including the bark of a London Plane tree in Cleveland’s Ohio City neighborhood, the steel curves and shapes of the Peter B. Lewis building designed by Frank Gehry on Case Western Reserve’s campus, and the brightly colored glow of Christmas lights at Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens in Akron. It’s the magic of “writing with light” that I continue to explore. 

Leave a Reply

